Lifestyle

Small Businesses Our Readers Love

Right now, businesses all around the country are having a tough time. But small and independent companies have been hit particularly hard. With the exception of a few global monoliths, many pet brands are run by one or two people. They’re often family businesses that survive by selling their products at weekend markets. With most of the world in lock-down, they’ve been especially impacted.

Understanding that, we reached out to our Off the Leash community and asked them to tell us about the local businesses that they love, but maybe aren’t frequenting as regularly right now.

If you have cash to spare, and are in the market for dog products or services, we really encourage you to skip the huge pet stores and give one of these brands your business.

We’ll keep updating this list as recommendations are passed onto us, so bookmark it to come back to later. 

If you want to let us know about a company you love, shoot us an email, or reach out on Instagram, Facebook, or Twitter

Hang in there everyone, we’ll get through this together.

Clothing & Accessories

Animals in Charge, @animalsincharge
Big Big Bear, @bigbearpetwares
The Boho Pet, @bohopetaccessories
Coco & Pud, @cocoandpud
Fluppies Dog Fashion, @fluppiesdogfashion
Found & Hound, @foundandhound
Funky Fidos, @funkyfidos
Golden Tales, @goldentales.au
Growlees, @growlees
Henley And Co Australia, @henleyandco
Hobie Collective, @hobie_collective
Hunter + Hound Supply Co, @hunterandhoundsupplyco
Lulu Loves, @__lulu_loves__
MISO & CO, @misoandco
Mr Soft Top, @mrsofttop
PinstaPals, @pinstapals
Pooky+Boo, @pookyandboo
Salty Pet Supply, @saltypetsupply
Scout’s Honour, @scoutshonour_
The Boho Pet, @bohopetaccessories

Services

Bark in the Park, @barkinthepark_ 
D0gh0use_h0tel,@wpengine@d0gh0use_h0tel/
Dog Photog, @dog_photog
Dog Walking Pets Coffs Harbour, @pawsnclawscoffsharbour
Fitness Dogs, @fitnessdogsau
Good Dog Behaviour & Training, @gooddogbehaviour
Mr Woofles Daycare & Boarding, @mrwooflesdaycare
The Pets Hotel, @thepetshotel

Food & Treats

Bones & Whiskers Dog Treats, @bones.and.whiskers
Healthy Dog Treat Shop, @healthydogtreatsshop
Doggy Detox, @doggydetox
Dog Gone Healthy AU, @doggonehealthyau
FurFresh, @furfresh
Laila and Me, @laila.and.me
PAWDinkum, @pawdinkum
Pet Food Innovators, @invopets
Pet Snacks, @petsnacksaus
Willow’s Pantry Dog Treats, @willowspantry
Bonza Dog Treats, @BonzaDogTreats

Products

The Barney Bed, @thebarneybed
Clementine’s Rescue Soap, @clementines_rescue_soap
Designer Dog Accessories, @nicedigs
Django & Co, @django_and_co 
Good Scruff, @goodscruff
Hangdog, @hangdog_art
Houndztooth, @houndztooth_au
Lavish Tails, @lavishtails
Maison Dog, @maisondog_australia
Melody’s Pet Collars Shop, @melodyspetcollars
Modern Ethical Sustainable, @_d0gh0use
Not Your Average Dog Towels, @zohaustralia
Harlow Harry, @harlowharry
Snooza Pet Products, @snooza_pet_products
One With Everything, @one_witheverything
Gummi Pets, @gummipets
Ruff Dogs, @ruffdogs_
Vackertass Supply Co, @vackertasssupplyco
Smack Bang, @smackbangstore
Stinky Dog, @stinkydog_au

Podcasts

Oh My Dog Podcast, @ohmydogpodcast
So Help Me Dog, @sohelpmedog
The Healthy Dog Pod, @thehealthydogpod

Share the post:

Written by Wendy Syfret
Wendy is Head of Media at Scratch. Which is a good fit, because she's never met a dog she didn't like. Although she has a special place in her heart for muts: three legs, one eye, missing fur, bit of a weird walk? The scruffier the better. Her favourite dog in the whole world though is her terrier-mix Stevie.